What Happens if You Drive on a Suspended License in NYC?

Former Prosecutors. Free confidential consultation. We can help when you need us most.


What Happens if You Drive on a Suspended License in NYC?


A license suspension is a serious business. While you might be tempted to ignore it and drive anyway, getting caught can have serious consequences. 

You need to know here about driving on a suspended license in New York. 

Why May a Driver’s License be Suspended

There are five reasons why New York might suspend your driver’s license.

  • Accumulating 11 or more points on your license within an 18-month period.
  • Vehicular crimes such as DWI, reckless driving, and leaving the scene of an accident.
  • Driving without insurance. 
  • Failure to pay fines for traffic violations.
  • Failure to appear in court.
  • Medical conditions impacting the driver’s ability to drive safely. 

You can see why police might take the violation seriously when they find someone driving around on a suspended license! 

Consequences for a Suspended Driver’s License

In New York State, driving on a suspended license can result in either a misdemeanor or felony charge. 

A first offense is charged as a misdemeanor. At the misdemeanor level, driving on a suspended license is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. 

You’d typically be charged with a felony when you’ve been caught driving on a suspended license multiple times. At the felony level, driving on a suspended license is punishable by up to four years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. 

Once the DMV suspends your license,  you’ll need an SR-22 to insure your car, and the DMV will require proof of insurance. Even if you can’t get a conditional license, you might wish to insure your car since you will already face higher insurance rates. Allowing a lapse in coverage could increase your rates by an additional 29%. 

Solutions for Suspended Licenses in New York 

In certain situations, you may qualify for a conditional license. The DMV issues conditional licenses to people who have had their licenses suspended or revoked due to alcohol or drug violations. Conditional licensing requires the driver to attend an Impaired Driving Program (IDP).

A conditional license only allows you to drive to certain locations, such as your place of employment, to IDP-approved classes or activities, to the DMV, to school, to and from probation activities, during assigned periods of time, and to medical appointments. If you need to go to the grocery store, you’d need to go some other way or have those groceries delivered. If you violate those conditions, even your conditional license may be revoked. 

Charged with driving on a suspended license? 

While driving on a suspended license may sound like a minor traffic violation, it is a crime, and you should take it seriously. Contact our office to schedule a case review today if you’ve been charged with this crime.

See also:

Can You Get a DUI While Parked in New York? 

What Happens When You’re the Passenger in a Car Pulled Over for DUI in NYC?

DWI Reminders for the Holiday Season 


Our Practice Areas

Our Recent Case Results

We Seek the Best Possible Results for Our Clients